Tags

, , , , ,

Something I’m faced with most often when photographing families is that some parents don’t want me to use photos featuring their children online in a public Facebook Album. You see I feature sneak peeks and albums of families that way they can decide what photos they want to purchase.

My photography page says the location that I cover and most of the time the album description says where the photos were taken if it is a public location. That way future clients can see what the location has to offer.

Recently I took photos for my friend of her and her siblings – 4 of which are adopted so their location can’t be shared for their safety. I obliged and only featured her photos in a private album that she could view and select from.

So I decided to see how other parents felt about their children’s photos being shared online either on my page or a personal page. I found that some parents found no danger in their child’s face being featured on my page even with the location. Most times I take photos on a neutral site not where I or my clients live so there is no saying how far away they live from where that photo is taken so therefore no danger.

But is this true?

Most people worry about posting too much information about their child and then having them be targeted by a pedophile or stalker, which is a very disturbing thought. But is possible through privacy settings on Facebook, people may be able to see your photos that you don’t know because they are a friend of a friend….

However think before you post because images of your children can be misused even if its years from now, when they are in high school and have their own Facebook page and you tag them in a #Throwback Thursday picture that may be embarrassing. Then a bully gets a hold of it and uses it to bully your child.

So I will leave you with a few photo sharing tips that I found on reputation.com

  • If you have hundreds of Facebook friends, you shouldn’t expect them all to be interested in your photos. Most social networks have private sharing options for photographs. If you want to share photos, make sure you set up a private album so that only people whom you’ve chosen can see the images.
  • Share photos that are appropriate. Your children will eventually grow up, and no matter how cute you think those pictures of them splashing around in the tub are, you should avoid posting images that could embarrass them down the road. Think about what you share online as a digital tattoo. Whether you like it or not, it’ll be there forever. Would you brand your son or daughter with an embarrassing tattoo? Why do it with a Facebook photo?
  • Avoid pictures that give out personal information. Think hard about what kind of personal data can be discerned from a photograph before you share it online. Does the shirt your child is wearing display the name of his or her school? The likelihood of a stalker tracking down your family may be extremely low, but that doesn’t mean you should avoid taking the appropriate precautions.

 

Share safely and take precautions to protect not only your kids but yourself!

